You are here

NCCP in Schools

In an effort to create strong partnerships with educational institutions, increase awareness about the NCCP,  and introduce students to world of coaching possibilities, the Coaching Association of Canada and viaSport B.C invite B.C. Post-Secondary Institutions and High Schools including Grades 9-12 to consider incorporating NCCP courses into their Physical Education and/or Kinesiology type programs.Applications for participation in both programs are scheduled to open June 20, 2018. 

High Schools

High Schools (HS) are invited to deliver the Fundamental Movement Skills (FMS) course to their students, in an effort to provide them with valuable information around teaching movement skills to children, while providing high school students with a valuable qualification that can assist them in future employment. Effective September 2018, all high schools delivering FMS must have an approved appliction on file with viaSport. 

High Schools approved to deliver FMS to their students within their classes include: 

  • Lord Tweedsmuir Secondary (Surrey)
  • Monterey Middle School (Victoria)
  • Oak Bay Secondary (Victoria)
  • Prince of Wales Secondary School (Vancouver)
  • Terry Fox Secondary (Port Coquitlam)


Post-Secondary Institutions

Post-Secondary Institutions (PSIs) have the opportunity to deliver multi-sport NCCP courses within their programs, or submit content for recognition of the NCCP outcomes. All in-person coach level multi-sport NCCP courses can be included. Coach Developer courses, sport specific course delivery and multi-sport courses delivered without facilitators through the Locker (eg. Making Head Way) are not included. Effective September 2018, all PSIs delivering multi-sport NCCP content must have an approved application on file with viaSport.

Post-Secondary Institutions approved to deliver multi-sport NCCP content within their kinesiology programs include: 

  • College of New Caledonia (Prince George)
  • College of the Rockies (Cranbrook)
  • Douglas College (New Westminster)
  • Langara College (Vancouver)
  • University of Victoria (Victoria)
  • Vancouver Island University (Nanaimo)